REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO HELD ON TUESDAY, JANUARY 14, 2014 AT 7:00 PM IN THE RDN BOARD CHAMBERS

In Attendance:

Director J. Stanhope Chairperson Director A. McPherson Electoral Area A Electoral Area B Director H. Houle Electoral Area C Director M. Young Director G. Holme Electoral Area E Director J. Fell Electoral Area F Director B. Veenhof Electoral Area H Director J. de Jong District of Lantzville Director J. Ruttan City of Nanaimo Director G. Anderson City of Nanaimo Director B. Bestwick City of Nanaimo Director T. Greves City of Nanaimo Director D. Johnstone City of Nanaimo Director J. Kipp City of Nanaimo

Alternate

Director B. McKay

Alternate

Director C. Burger

Director D. Willie

City of Nanaimo

City of Parksville

Town of Qualicum Beach

Regrets:

Director D. Brennan City of Nanaimo
Director M. Lefebvre City of Parksville

Also in Attendance:

P. Thorkelsson Chief Administrative Officer
J. Harrison Director of Corporate Services

W. Idema Director of Finance

T. Osborne Gen. Mgr. Recreation & Parks

D. Trudeau Gen. Mgr. Transportation & Solid Waste

G. Garbutt Gen. Mgr. Strategic & Community Development R. Alexander Gen. Mgr. Regional & Community Services

J. Hill Mgr. Administrative Services

C. Golding Recording Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

The Chairperson called the meeting to order and welcomed Alternate Director McKay and Alternate Director Burger to the meeting.

SCHEDULED STANDING, ADVISORY STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS SELECTION COMMITTEE

ELECTORAL AREA 'A' PARKS, RECREATION AND CULTURE COMMISSION

14-001 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director McPherson, that Eike M. Jordan, Jim Fiddick, Angela Vincent, and Andrew D. Thornton be appointed to the Electoral Area 'A' Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

ELECTORAL AREA 'B' PARKS & OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-002 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Houle, that Mark Woolley, Jacinthe B. Eastick, and Ivan Bulic be appointed to the Electoral Area 'B' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

EAST WELLINGTON/PLEASANT VALLEY PARKS & OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-003 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Young, that Bruce Erickson, Judith Wilson, and Rick Heikkila be appointed to the East Wellington/Pleasant Valley Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

ELECTORAL AREA 'E' / NANOOSE BAY PARKS & OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-004 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Young, that Scott Rowswell and Walter Johann Kirschner be appointed to the Nanoose Bay Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

ELECTORAL AREA 'F' PARKS & OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-005 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Fell, that Earl Billingsley, Alfred Jablonski, Barbara Smith, and Reg Nosworthy be appointed to the Electoral Area 'F' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

ELECTORAL AREA 'G' PARKS & OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-006 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Young, that Michael Foster and Roderick Horte be appointed to the Electoral Area 'G' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

ELECTORAL AREA 'H' PARKS & OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-007 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Veenhof, that Nancy Robertson, Dagmar Seydel, and Keith Nickerson be appointed to the Electoral Area 'H' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015. (See Note 1)

CARRIED

GRANTS-IN-AID COMMITTEE

14-008 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Young, that Michele Patterson, Bruce Erickson, Bob Rogers, and Gordon Wiebe be appointed to the Grants-in-Aid Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2014.

CARRIED

AGRICULTURAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-009 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Johnstone, that Keith Wilson, Mayta Ryn, Richard Thompson, and Catherine Watson be appointed to the Agricultural Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

BOARD OF VARIANCE

14-010 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director McPherson, that Patricia Anne Grand be appointed to the Board of Variance for a term ending December 31, 2016.

CARRIED

DRINKING WATER AND WATERSHED PROTECTION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-011 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director McPherson, that Gilles Wendling and Peter Law be appointed to the Drinking Water and Watershed Protection Technical Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2015.

CARRIED

NANAIMO AIRPORT PLANNING PROCESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

14-012 MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director McPherson, that George Creek, Garry Laird, Kelly O'Dwyer, Ken Griffith, Patricia Anne Grand, Dave Witty, Kim Burden, Robert W. Willis, David S. Dunaway, and Jill Maibach be appointed to the Nanaimo Airport Planning Process Advisory Committee for terms ending December 31, 2014.

CARRIED

Note 1: This motion was reconsidered at the January 28, 2014 Regular Board Meeting.

ADJOURNMENT		
MOVED Director Holme, SECONDED Director Young, tha	at this meeting terminate.	CARRIED
TIME: 7:04 PM		
CHAIRPERSON	CORPORATE OFFICER	